Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: 2018 Project 52 - 3rd Qtr - Sandy (Skitterbug)

Real Name
    Sandy

Re: 2018 Project 52 - 3rd Qtr - Sandy (Skitterbug)

Thanks Joe!

Real Name
    Sandy

Quote Originally Posted by Cantab View Post
    Sandy, when I saw the first photo my immediate reaction was "Wow!". I think it's because of the sharpness of the focus on most of the dragonfly and the colours in the photo.

What lens were you using? I have a vague recollection of your saying that you often use your 100-400m.
    Hi Bruce - You are right! It is the Canon 100-400 lens. Around our place, I'm always trying to get closeups of the wildlife and for this reason, this lens seems to be the one that is most always on the camera! <lol> I'm still learning where all the controls are located on my camera/lens but I'm slowly becoming more comfortable using the Mark II and this lens together. For my pocket, the lens was a bit pricey but I don't regret spending the money on it now!

I'm glad you like the dragon fly! They are always on the move and fun to chase down! <grin> Thanks for commenting!

Real Name
    Greg

It's not just the wonderful detail that Joe mentioned which makes this images well above average, it is the way you have framed the subjects in the environment. ie great composition, Sandy.

I recently acquired the Canon 100-400 lens too, and I find that is increasingly becoming my go to lens.

Real Name
    Sandy

Quote Originally Posted by FootLoose View Post
    It's not just the wonderful detail that Joe mentioned which makes this images well above average, it is the way you have framed the subjects in the environment. ie great composition, Sandy.

I recently acquired the Canon 100-400 lens too, and I find that is increasingly becoming my go to lens.
    Hi Greg - I'm smiling because of the praise! Thank you! Sometimes things come together and of course other times, they don't. But when there is success, it adds to the fun of photography!