Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: A newbie needs some help - compact camera purchase decisions

Re: A newbie needs some help...

I know I promised these comparison images a long time ago but I have finally got round to it. I went round Cambridge with my TZ3, FZ45, Canon Powershot G11 and LX3. I tried to get a variety of shooting conditions but it's an English winter so there's only so much you can do! The TZ3 is wha I've been using for a few years so it was something of a 'control' in this experiment, i.e., is it worth replacing? All cameras were set to Auto White Balance and all, apart from the TZ were set to ISO 80. The TZ was left to fend for itself in this area, as I have used it up to now. The FZ, LX and S11 all had intelligent exposure set to high.

After reading the comments above I took two images on each camera with maximum and minimum apertures. When examining these on the computer afterwards it was obvious that in all cases the maximum aperture settings gave the clearest result so I have only posted these, it'll make this a bit shorter! However, I will have to post as three articles as I'm limited to 20 images per post.

So, first up, a shot up into the dome of Clare College ante-chapel.

The TZ3:
    A newbie needs some help - compact camera purchase decisions

The FZ45:

The S11:

and the LX3:

The crops are at 100%.

My observations, clearly the TZ has much less shadow detail than the others due to its smaller aperture, 3.3. It also displays more noise but the photo was taken at ISO160. For the others the FZ has the worse noise, then the LX, then the S11 with next to none. The LX has a 2.0 maximum aperture compared to 2.8 on the FZ and S11 giving a little more detail in the highlights of the lantern. There is some chromatic aberration visible from the S11 which is not present on any of the Panasonics. Finally, and this was true of all photos, the Canon has a noticeably higher exposure than the Panasonics.