Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: New Telephoto vs. Telephoto Extender

Real Name
    Bill

Re: New Telephoto vs. Telephoto Extender

Quote Originally Posted by Manfred M View Post
    The "normal person" often thinks a selfie done on a cell phone is a good image...
    ????

Real Name
    Richard

I suspect that the very popular Tamron 70-180mm f/2.8 lens for Sony might be even more popular if Tamron introduced a compatible TC for that lens.
    However, for a very long focal range, Tamron's new 150-500mm might be just the ticket. AND the cost of the combination of the two Tamron lenses is less than the cost of a Sony 70-200mm GM lens and a teleconverter.
    I think that the same might be true for the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 and Tamron 150-600mm for other mounts such as Canon or Nikon.

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Quote Originally Posted by Thlayle View Post
    I am an amateur photog with some good gear, currently shooting with a Canon 5DMk4 and I have Canon's EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS III USM lens...This brings me to the idea of a Canon 2x extender for the telephoto I have. That will take me to 400 mm on my full frame, but the cost is just about 1/2 of the current pricing on a Sigma 150-600 5-6.3 "contemporary" or similar choice.

. . . if you have any advice to share, I will appreciate it.
    Hello,

Have you made your purchase?

WW

Real Name
    Richard

BTW: although I have read that the latest Canon 2x converter and the latest 70-200mm f/2.8L lens mesh together quite well, I have never been satisfied with the results of a 2x converter on any lens I have tried one with. However, I have had very good results using a Canon 1.4x TC Mark-2 with several L-class telephoto lenses. But, I still prefer a native longer focal length lens one modified with a TC.

Real Name
    Dan

Quote Originally Posted by rpcrowe View Post