Thread: idea for a techniques project?

Real Name
    Hope

idea for a techniques project?

Does anyone here have any ideas, input, links, etc for some ideas for a photography project with the theme being learning basic techniques? I'm a complete newbie and thought a series of photos focusing on different basic techniques would be a great way to learn and not get too confused with jumping all over the place trying to learn everything in fragments. Any ideas are much appreciated! How did you guys learn? Self taught or took a class? I may take a class at some point, but right at the moment that isn't an option. Thanks!

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: idea for a techniques project?

You could create your own themes based on your own misgivings of your photos and based on topics that become apparent when people critique your photos. You also might get some good ideas from this thread

Real Name
    John

My photography trek has been mostly self taught, I have taken a few classes over the years. Check the website of your camera manufacturer, they usually have specific lessons, class offerings, global treks, etc.

The contest themes on this forum are a good way to challenge yourself.

Real Name
    Shane

Hope, there are so many different aspects to learn that it can be overwhelming. I am primarily self-taught but have taken a few classes at our local university.