Thread: Choir portraits

Choir portraits

Hi
    I have been a photographer since a child (a good many years ago), but have rarely shot portraits until recent times. I have spent the last couple of years teaching myself with the help, among other resources, of Colin's school of portraiture threads. It is now time for me to stick my head above the parapet and get some serious C&C.

I am a member of a local choir and offered a donation to choir funds for everyone who was willing to act as my model. The plan was that I would shoot them doing something they like doing, or with something that they are particularly attached to, and the shoot would be at their home, place of work, or anywhere that came to mind indoors or out. I spent some time with a friend of my daughter, a professional photographer in the London entertainment scene; she taught me some lighting basics, and www.strobist.com helped with the rest. I have used flash sometimes (1 or 2, off camera, often with brollies), but not always.

Most of the time I have not tried to be flattering (and the subjects accepted this!), but to capture something about their character. Often I have included a musical "clue" in the frame - it is a choir, after all.

Here are three together, just to show the sort of thing I aim for. If I post others, I'll do them individually. All taken with a Leica M9.

Cricketer & music director
    My first model.
    (Lens: 35mm, f/5.6)
    Choir portraits

Fenland midwife and soprano
    (Lens: 90mm, f/5.6)
    My second model, on a bitterly cold day.
    Perhaps too much fill-in flash? And I had to clone a wind turbine from the top of her head - doh!
    Choir portraits

Mother-to-be and alto
    (Lens: 90mm, f/2)
    Sadly, just out of focus on the eyes.
    Choir portraits

You can see all my portraits here: http://www.paulashleyphotography.co....ion/the-choir/
    But I'll post others here in due course if there seems to be enough interest - I need the C&C

Re: Choir portraits

Hi Paul.