Thread: Dell monitor and calibration

Real Name
    Matthew

Dell monitor and calibration

Hi everyone.

This is what I am using at the moment.
    A canon 5d mkII with a 24-105 f4 lens. ( 5 years old?)
    A 2012 mac mini connected to a dell 3007 wfp via dual link dvi ( circa 2007? non wide gamut version).
    A recently purchased canon pro 100 and a recently purchased colormunki photo.

My question is, how do I get the images on my screen and prints to match as closely as possible.

This will be quite a long post so I'll try to break it up to make it more manageable and easier to understand.
    My screen is at least 8, possibly 9 years old, so I am assuming it is the weak link in the chain.

I am a painter and use photos as reference material. I am not so much bothered about colour accuracy (by that I mean the images looking like what was photographed) but what is important is the consistency of the colour from my screen to the printed image. I do some post processing in canon's dpp (ver 3.14.47) but it is usually quite minimal just some contrast, brightness and sharpening. I don't use any other software.
    I print using the printer pro plugin from dpp.

Prior to buying my colormunki I tried printing from dpp using my pro 100 and using pro glossy II paper on my uncalibrated screen. I had some profiles from ages ago when I had a spyder2 and some other apple profiles.
    The results were ok and I tried to get closer by using the pro plugin's tile printing service which allows slight adjustments to be made to the colour levels or contrast. It got closer but I realised that it was still too difficult a task to handle without a calibrator.

I bought a colormunki yesterday and have calibrated my screen twice. Once with the recommended d65 setting from the colormunki and once with the d50 setting as recommended from canon's website.

http://www.canon.co.uk/printers/inkj...nt_studio_pro/