Thread: DSLR camera for beginners

Real Name
    Dipayan

Re: DSLR camera for beginners

Quote Originally Posted by shobana29272 View Post
    Hence ,keeping in mind , the following factors ..that
    1. I am a beginner and
    2. my budget is 900-100 dollars
    3. I travel a lot and do a lot of sight -seeing and obviously love taking pictures and would prefer a camera(+lenses) which is not too bulky ,
    4.I love taking macros too
    One suggestion from my side would be...

considering point 1, 2 and (specially)3, why not try Panasonic or Olympus PEN Micro Four-thirds? If you are not going to be a professional photographer or do not want to spend more time on camera than the natural beauty surrounding you; I think checking out these mirrorless-SLR-ish cameras with bigger sensor (same as Olympus DSLRs) & DSLR like lenses but smaller size may give you flexibility and quality... you may like it. They are now coming up with more choices of lens. One thing to remember, though you can use any micro four-third lens (regardless of make) on any micro four-third camera body (again regardless of make), compared to 'Big two', lens choice are less.

From service centre point of view, you are right, Pentax is a deal-breaker, they are almost nil in India. This is almost the case for Olympus DSLRs in India, but they have third party service centers and Olympus is coming up with company-owned super showrooms and service centers in all 6 metros in India this september (some of them might be already open), but not in Vizag.

I am an Olympus fan and admirer, hence such suggestion ... but really, check this option too.

Real Name
    Birger Hansen

Hey shobana29272.

Here is just a little advice speaking Nikon.
    The D90 is not exactly an entry-level camera as the D3000(D3100) and the D5000. (The D60 is discontinued).
    It is what Nikon calls semi-pro.