Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: HDR and Filters - Is it too Much?

Real Name
    Michael

HDR and Filters - Is it too Much?

Hi all,

I used LR6 and NIK HDR Efex Pro 2 to edit these two photos. In LR6 all I did was auto-tone. In NIK I applied lots of filters. I like the NIK image with filters - the LR6 image seems boring and dull by comparison. I like the heavily filtered image but I feel that perhaps it looks to amateur - I worry about that because I am an amateur.

Comments or criticisms? I didn't clone or crop of vignette the images - should I have?

Plain old LR:

Here is the heavily filtered NIK:

Thanks.

Michael

Real Name
    John

Re: HDR and Filters - Is it too Much?

A crop would be interesting if you eliminated all of the sky right up to the greenery on left, however if you crop that tightly you'd split the masts; but then again they are almost lost in the foreground. The crop would lose the bit of detail you've pulled from the clouds but the severe crop was suggested because you've done the same in camera to the tops of the buildings and the masts on either end of the composition.

Regarding the processing, I don't think the scene called for HDR and I don't think HDR was really done on this scene just processed to look as if. I'm not for or against either image; interestingly I like the red of the LR version and the yellow of the NIK version. Nice effort.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Personally I find the image far too busy to be effective, but then that is my personal taste coming through. Your PP work is definitely "over the top", in my opinion. Unless you are actually blending multiple exposures then I would skip HDR Pro, the tone mapping by itself often results in images that are not all that appealing.