Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: When and how to use Filters.

Real Name
    Michael Haire

When and how to use Filters.

Hi everyone,
    My name is Mike and my Photographic Genre is Landscape and Macro photography. I am fairly new to this and have 2 questions that has me baffled!!!!
    Can anyone tell me the difference between ND Filters and G.N.D filters. My other question is :- In what sequence would I place several filters on the camera lens? i.e. UV-CPL-colored and any other filters that are necessary.
    Or does it really matter?
    Many thanks in anticipation of all the advice I am going to receive.
    Best regards,
    Mike

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: When and how to use Filters.

Welcome to CiC, Mike!

A neutral density filter has the same density throughout the entire filter. It is used to reduce the same amount of light entering the lens throughout the entire area of the scene being photographed. A common use is to allow use of a slow shutter in bright light that produces the milky look of a waterfall when the light is so bright that a slow enough shutter might not be possible without using the filter. By the way, a polarizer filter is one type of a neutral density filter and I often use one for that purpose even when its use as a polarizer is not needed. That explains why I always recommend that a polarizer is the first filter a photographer should buy when shooting outdoors.