Thread: Flowers - not my forte

Flowers - not my forte

I am not good with flowers, though mostly lack of experience. I do not even know what this is called, however it was interesting to me. Seems over-exposed in the lower portion and a lack of definition in the (tendril?) coming out from the centre area to the left? What could I have done better? eg bracketed?

Flowers - not my forteFlower in Hamilton by Jim Air, on Flickr

Real Name
    Brian

Re: Flowers - not my forte

Hi Jim, I'm guessing that you were shooting outside? Perhaps a different time of day with less direct sunlight.

I am beginning to understand that some flowers work best up close and some work best further back. It's more of an art than a science. Because I'm into macro I would get in closer.

Straight down is a tough flower shot. Not undoable just tough.

Hope that helps.

Quote Originally Posted by JBW View Post
    Hi Jim, I'm guessing that you were shooting outside? Perhaps a different time of day with less direct sunlight.

I am beginning to understand that some flowers work best up close and some work best further back. It's more of an art than a science. Because I'm into macro I would get in closer.

Straight down is a tough flower shot. Not undoable just tough.

Hope that helps.
    It certainly does, thanks Brian! It was outside and the time of day was at 1.17pm, New Zealand time, not a good time at all to take photos. Still, it was two years ago and I am now more aware, though just as lazy 🤔 😪

Real Name
    Ted

Quote Originally Posted by Jim A View Post
    I am not good with flowers, though mostly lack of experience. I do not even know what this is called, however it was interesting to me. Seems over-exposed in the lower portion and a lack of definition in the (tendril?) coming out from the centre area to the left? What could I have done better? eg bracketed?

Flowers - not my forteFlower in Hamilton by Jim Air, on Flickr