Thread: On1 2018.5, opinions, critics and advices

Real Name
    Philippe

On1 2018.5, opinions, critics and advices

Hello everyone,
    I already posted this question on a previous thread, but it seems it was unnoticed and did not get reactions, I hope it was not because it was unrelevant
    "Be happy to have in depth feedback from ON1 2018 users, eventually if he can compete with Lightroom as a standalone RAW editor.
    I have ON1 2017, because the first reactions about ON1 2018 I prefered not to upgrade till the issues are cleared."

I hesitate between moving to the last Lightroom subscription (I have an old LR5 version that I use a lot for routine basic PP of RAW pictures I select for print albums, but I found there is lot of useful improvements since), or taking the promos for upgrade to On1 2018.5 for using it instead as a standalone. I must specify that I'm a quite average photographer without the expert skills of so many people here
    Thans a lot in advance to everyone who can help (I know that the CiC community is made from wonderful people that are always ready to help , PhilT

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: On1 2018.5, opinions, critics and advices

Philippe - the reason you got no answer last time is that the OnOne product has a reasonably small market share and the number of users is limited.

I am in charge of the Education Committee at my photography club (over 200 members) and we did a program (that we are looking to continue this year) on the alternatives to Adobe products for editing work. Phase One's Capture One was the one that had a decent sized user base and there was a smattering of other converter that members used, from the one that shipped with their camera (Canon DPP, Nikon View and Sony (which ships with a version of Capture One for Sony cameras) had some users and there were a few DxO PhotoLab users as well as some that used the Corel and ACDSee software. I do not recall anyone using the OnOne raw converter.