Thread: New to Street Photogaphy, Need Inspiration

Real Name
    Daniel

New to Street Photogaphy, Need Inspiration

As the title says I'm new to street art/photography. I enjoy walking around looking at stuff and people watching. Show me some of your ideas to help me start generating some ideas. Please.

Real Name
    John

Re: New to Street Photogaphy, Need Inspiration

Hi Daniel,

What's your style of shooting; frequent mover, scout out a location and setup post, or shoot from the hip?

Real Name
    Richard

Daniel, one way to do this could be, as mentioned by John above, to find a sign, billboard, etc., that might in conjunction with a passerby, add up to a good shot. An example might be a shot of a sign with a sexy gal in a bikini being looked at by an old woman passing by. Or... a sign with a buffed out male (advertising a health club) with a guy with a big belly walking by.

Unfortunately, I do not seem to get as enthused about street photography shooting in my own area as much as I do when I am traveling to a foreign land...

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

I think the best way for you to get started is very much a two-part exercise:

1. Look at the work of street photographers past and present to see how they handle this genre. Once you understand what you like and what you don't try to figure out how you might want to approach shooting some of your own street images.

2. Post your work on a site like CiC and have your shots critiqued. You will probably agree with some of the comments and disagree with others. Go out and shoot again and you will start mastering this genre.

I generally point people to the work of Henri Cartier-Bresson; much of his work falls in to this genre. Diane Arbus, Vivian Maier, Gary Winogrand and Alfred Stieglitz are some of the old masters that have influenced me. Zack Arias is a current photographer who works in this genre.

Thornhill, a suburb of Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Real Name
    Robert

Daniel,