Thread: Shooting against Light

Real Name
    Arjun Gupta

Shooting against Light

I was experimenting with trying to capture some rim light by adjusting the Exposure Compensation. I wanted your opinions on the first or second photo. I prefer the second photo.

I do realise I could have framed this better as there is very little space on the left side and a lot more on the right. This is the challenge of framing moving animals perfectly. As you can see from this photo I am still learning.

The photo below is SOOC; no adjustments made, shot at 105mm, ISO 1600, 1/2500, 5.6, -2.0EV, Matrix

Shooting against Light

The photo below is the same photo but a further stop down in processing. No other adjustments made.

Shooting against Light

Nikon D800, 28-300 lens

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Shooting against Light

Both images are underexposed. When shooting against the light, the tendency will be to have a very light background if you are trying to expose the subjects "correctly". The other issue with shooting against the light is that the subject will be very flat as you are shooting into a shadow area. If the light source is included in the shot you will also get softness from "veiling flare" as the light bounces off the interior lens elements. When it comes to using exposure compensation, you are going in the opposite direction that you should be.

Traditionally, in portraiture, these types of shots will be augmented by "fill light", whether that be flash or from a reflector. In this type of scene, that is not possible, so correcting in post-processing is the only thing one can do. The Lightroom / Adobe Camera Raw "Shadows" slider can work wonders.

Shooting against Light

Real Name
    Peter Schluter

I can see why you prefer the second one as it accentuates the rim lighting more, but in my opinion the image is too dark. You could try some selective brightening of the subject which would reveal more detail without losing the rim light effect.