Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: DarkTable ???

Real Name
    David

Re: DarkTable ???

After having used Aftershot Pro (and before that Bibble) I started using DarkTable some time ago. I like it because of the price, but since I am a programmer myself, I don’t mind getting my hands dirty to solve problems (although I didn’t need it yet).
    DT can do everything I need when I edit my photo’s, which isn’t much, but it takes some time to getting used to, especially because it doesn’t touch the original files, not even when you remove the pictures from your library (although I believe it is possible). For an FOSS project the documentation is rather good.
    But I have to be honest, I didn’t open DT for at least 3 months, probably more...

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Quote Originally Posted by dnperfors View Post
    After having used Aftershot Pro (and before that Bibble) I started using DarkTable some time ago. I like it because of the price, but since I am a programmer myself, I don’t mind getting my hands dirty to solve problems (although I didn’t need it yet).
    DT can do everything I need when I edit my photo’s, which isn’t much, but it takes some time to getting used to, especially because it doesn’t touch the original files, not even when you remove the pictures from your library (although I believe it is possible).

That is typical behaviour of any raw convertor. Data in a raw file is not an image and the raw convertor has to build one from the data, so the original data is never touched because the output of these tools is an image file, whether it is some proprietary format, like Adobe Camera Raw or Lightroom default to or a TIFF, bitmap or JPEG.

For an FOSS project the documentation is rather good.