Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to post processing

Real Name
    James Collins

new to post processing

I am new to post processing and am finding the learning curve a little steep.I am trying to learn rawtherapee since I am now shooting raw on my camera. What other software could I use to help learn post processing. I have GIMP installed on my computer and find that Davies Media Design has extensive tutorials on using GIMP plus I have a large book that I got for Christmas (GIMP 2.8 for Photographers).Not many tutorials on learning rawtherapee. I figure if I can learn basics in GIMP about post processing then it might make it easier to learn RT. Any suggestions would help. Thanks.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: new to post processing

Raw Therapee is primarily a raw converter whereas GIMP is a pixel based editor.

Two different tools for two totally different aspects of editing.

The vast majority of the users here do not use GIMP very much and there are a few who are very happy with RawTherapee. There are lots of other products out there; it depends on how much you want to spend (the two pieces of software you are looking at are "free".

If you want to look at a fairly inexpensive "mainstream" product, I would suggest Serif Affinity. Functionality is about 80% of Photoshop used by photographers. It's raw convertor is not my favourite, but is probably more than acceptable if you are starting out. There is a 30 day trial version you might want to try.

Real Name
    John

If you are looking for something free I would suggest FastStone, not many tutorials available but you can find a workflow for editing online that'll provide you with the basic starting points. Cons with FastStone is noise reduction filter very limited, and FS is limited to BMP, JPEG, JPEG 2000, GIF, PNG, PCX, TIFF, WMF, ICO, TGA and camera raw files. For WB, the program either uses settings from camera or does an AWB.

http://faststone.org/

Real Name
    James Collins