Thread: A DSLR superzoom camera

Real Name
    Antonio Luz

A DSLR superzoom camera

I am a nature photographer and my main themes are small animals (birds and squirrels) and landscapes. So, I need telephoto and wide-angle lenses. Superzoom cameras give me what I need and, because their small size, are very good for aerial trips, but their tiny sensors have some limitations.
    To overcome these limitations, I tried to merge two camera worlds: superzoom and DSLR (I bought a superzoom lens for my Nikon D5300 DSLR camera).

I looked at the options on the market (Nikon, Sigma and Tamron) and chose Nikon. Nikon offers two lens options:
    # 1- a Nikkor 18-300mm f / 3.5-5.6;
    # 2- a Nikkor 18-300mm f / 3.5-6.3.
    I chose option # 2 because this lens performs better (*), is smaller, lighter and has a lower cost.
    (*) Three reviews indicated to me that the Nikkor 18-300mm f/3.5-6.3 was the best choice between the two lenses: DXOMARK, Photographyblog and Ken Rockwell.
    https://www.dxomark.com/Lenses/Nikon...kon-D500__1061
    https://www.photographyblog.com/revi...iew/conclusion
    https://kenrockwell.com/nikon/18-300mm-vr.htm

This way, I have a relatively compact photographic equipment that fits in a small pouch (and, with a cord, I hung the lens cap on the body of the camera, as in a superzoom camera).

I am aware that superzoom lenses have lower performance than ordinary zoom lenses and that these are inferior to premium zoom lenses and that prime lenses tend to be the best.

I made some tests with the set "camera set D5300 + lens 18-300 f/3.5-6.3", which I can post here, if there is any interest.
    Cheers,
    Antonio.

#1- The pouches of the two cameras
    A DSLR superzoom camera

#2- The cameras inside their respective pouches
    A DSLR superzoom camera

#3- Lens caps tied to camera body
    A DSLR superzoom camera
    Last edited by Panama Hat & Camera; 13th March 2019 at 02:15 AM.

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul