Sunflower portraitsIMG_4820 by James Cason, on Flickr

Sunflower portraitsIMG_4815 by James Cason, on Flickr

Any advice is more that welcome.

Thanks

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Re: Sunflower portraits

Hands...

Careful with any posing of Hands: note how much more relaxed, and therefore more inviting to the Viewer's Eye is Image #1 contrasted to Image #2. Certainly the facial expressions are different: but the Hands in Image #2 are 'stiff starch' and that communicates a lot to the Viewer.

Typically the Hands (if Hands are in shot) are the next most important communicative feature to the Viewer: the Face (usually) being the most communicative feature of the Subject.

WW

Real Name
    John

Nice series, odd blur spot on the first image.

Real Name
    Sharon

Not being a portrait photographer, I must ask how you are getting your bokeh in these images, because each one has very odd looking backgrounds/bokeh ... It's either that or I am not in tune to how it works.
    #1 has a weird spot on top of the above, and #3 has as well, right at her hair mid down head.

Nice efforts, agree about how the model is perceived... she looks stiff in 2nd image...

Real Name
    Ted

Quote Originally Posted by lovelife65 View Post
    Not being a portrait photographer, I must ask how you are getting your bokeh in these images, because each one has very odd looking backgrounds/bokeh ...
    About the only classic bokeh is in the third shot, sticking out from her head toward camera right. It looks OK (bokeh-wise). Can't comment on anything else in that shot because there is no EXIF.

Can't say that I like the background being blurred so much against the sharpness of the model's rendering.
    Last edited by xpatUSA; 16th August 2019 at 03:20 AM.

Real Name
    Mike long

We got to the sunflower feild and the owner was like " flowers look awful but more will be up in a few weeks" and he was right.. lol