Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Worldwide equipment insurance

Real Name
    António Correia

Worldwide equipment insurance

I have now some expensive photographic equipment which I would like to insure in Portugal and worldwide when travelling.
    In Portugal I couldn't find a company that would do so unless I was a pro. They think the risks are too hight even if I have other insurances in the same company like, houses and cars.
    And, before I dive on the web I ask if you have any clue, please ? Thank you !

Photo from here

Real Name
    Peter Schluter

Re: Worldwide equipment insurance

Quote Originally Posted by Antonio Correia View Post
    I have now some expensive photographic equipment which I would like to insure in Portugal and worldwide when travelling.
    In Portugal I couldn't find a company that would do so unless I was a pro. They think the risks are too hight even if I have other insurances in the same company like, houses and cars.
    And, before I dive on the web I ask if you have any clue, please ? Thank you !

Photo from here
    Mine is covered under my general house insurance.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Antonio - in Canada there are two routes to follow.

The first is what Peter suggests which is having a rider on your home insurance policy. Any expensive item (depends on the policy to define expensive) requires the item to be listed and an additional premium is paid based on the value of the item. In the policy I have, any item that is worth more than $CAD 1000 must be handled this way. My coverage is worldwide and I understand that to make a claim they need proof of loss (a police report, for instance). This insurance does not cover damage attributable to my carelessness.

The second approach is used by the professionals who ensure their business and includes things like liability insurance, equipment insurance, errors and omissions insurance, etc. There are specialty insurance carriers for this type of insurance.

Real Name