Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lusiana - portrait taken in Fiji

Lusiana - portrait taken in Fiji

My wife and I met up with our daughter and her family in Fiji (from NZ) for a holiday. Just got back three days ago. Whilst there I took this pic of one of our waitresses, Lusiana. I have very little experience in portraits, so please don't hold back on your comments, as I want to learn.

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Lusiana - portrait taken in Fiji

Is it my old man's eyes, this late at night, or is there the slightest bit of motion blur in Lusiana.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Jim - Richard is correct; there is a lack of sharpness here so either a bit of motion blur is the most likely culprit. A focusing issue generally results in part of the image being sharp and I don't see that here.

A couple of other things; shooting a subject flat on tends to make our subjects look wider, so a common technique is to have the subject turn in to about a 45 degree angle to the photographer and then get you model to turn the head back to face the photographer. It doesn't have to be a totally straight on shot of the head either.

Burning down some of the hot spots on the face could be worth looking at too.

Otherwise a nice start in portraiture.

Real Name
    John

I was going to say the image is a bit soft, it would help if you described how you went about taking the shot or was this just a grab shot?

Real Name
    Philip

Lusiana appears to be illuminated by an almost circular spot-light. Perhaps the image would benefit from adjustment to a more subtle and gentle vignette.

Philip

Real Name
    Grahame

Quote Originally Posted by Jim A View Post
    My wife and I met up with our daughter and her family in Fiji (from NZ) for a holiday. Just got back three days ago. Whilst there I took this pic of one of our waitresses, Lusiana. I have very little experience in portraits, so please don't hold back on your comments, as I want to learn.