Thread: Garden Spider

Real Name
    Derek Philpott

Garden Spider

This fella has taken up residence outside my study window. Common garden spider, about an inch across with legs extended.
    This is focus stacked, 25 images, and I'm quite happy with the result, but I'm still learning the technique, and do not think I'm at the optimum yet.

Garden Spider

Re: Garden Spider

Looks good to me. It is so difficult to get a clear web like that one.

Real Name
    Ted

Quite a beast! What prompted the choice of stacking or were you just practicing? No EXIF, so it's hard to guess ...

Real Name
    John

Nice shot.

Real Name
    Dan

It's a nice shot, and I don't see artifacts, but 25 images is overkill. Given that you were shooting with the critter parallel to the sensor, there isn't much depth. The only real depth is from the hump of the abdomen and the ends of the legs. It shouldn't require more than a few images to stack this, and with far fewer than 25, you should be able to get into focus the ends of the legs that are now out of focus.

To make this concrete, the following image is a single image, not stacked at all, taken at f/13:

Garden Spider

Now, the bottom is flatter, which means less need for stacking, but on the other hand, I was a lot closer, which means a smaller depth of field.

So my bottom line is that you can have a lot more focusing difference between shots and therefore far fewer shots to stack.
    Last edited by DanK; 16th October 2019 at 11:49 AM.

Real Name
    vaez

well done

Real Name
    Derek Philpott

Dan
    Thanks. I'm still struggling a bit with this. I have a Fuji XT-2, which has auto focus built in, and I've been using that. I just tried again, two images, one 25 exposures controlled by the camera, and one 5 exposure with me changing the focus between shots. I can see hardly any difference. If anything, I would say the 5 esp (the slightly darker one) is better.