Thread: My first macro

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

My first macro

I borrowed a friend's Nikkor 105mm Micro lens to have a hard look at macro work over the next few weeks.

This is my first try; a 2-image stack in Photoshop. Fairly significant focus breathing with this lens and even with the stack, I could use a bit more sharpness.

I chose a fairly flat broach to try and merged in Photoshop.

My first macro

Real Name
    John

Re: My first macro

Nice effort.

Real Name
    Ted

Nice reminder of my days as a watch repairer, Manfred.

Perhaps focus breathing can be countered with more images.

I assume that Photoshop aligns images when stacking.

Real Name
    Judith

Fun!

Real Name
    Dan

Both of my macro lenses show substantial focus breathing when near minimum working distance, and I don't think I have ever heard of one that doesn't. For the most part, modern stacking software handles this well. The main exception is the dreaded stacking halos that sometimes arise when a close edge is a substantial distance forward of the surface behind it. Because of the focus breathing, there is no flawless way to handle these edges if the front-to-back distance is large enough because of the large change on AOV that causes.

Different stacking algorithms vary in how susceptible they are in this respect. I haven't tried Helicon, so I have no knowledge of their three methods. However, in the case of Zerene, which has been my stacking software for years, the PMax method suffers less from this than DMax. I prefer DMax for other reasons, so when I run into halos, I usually create composites from both and use the PMax composite to touch up the areas with halos in the DMap one.

I vaguely recall reading somewhere that Photoshop's algorithm is somewhat similar to DMap, and if so, it is probably quite susceptible to this, but I have almost no experience stacking in Photoshop, so this guess might be completely wrong.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller