Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting to grips with flash

Real Name
    GeorgeGetNA

Getting to grips with flash

Hi all, hope someone can point me in the right direction. I am using an external flash unit on my Sony A7. In a reasonably well-lit room with the camera set to manual, shutter set to 1/60,aperture f1.8 and ISO set to auto, I get a well-exposed picture, however the ISO is in the region of 1600 to 3200. As I would prefer the ISO to be lower, I have kept the above settings except that I have the ISO fixed at 100. I now find that before I press the shutter the settings in the viewfinder tell me the shot is going to be very underexposed. Do I go ahead and take the shot and will the flash power increase to take account of the lower ISO of 100, resulting in a well-exposed picture I have a lot of experience of outdoor photography, but flash seems to be a whole new ball-game altogether. Any thoughts on the matter would be appreciated.

Real Name
    Peter Schluter

Re: Getting to grips with flash

Ignore the viewfinder meter reading, it does not know you are using flash.

If your flash is compatible with the camera in some form of TTL mode then yes the flash will provide the correct power for your shot. The limitation may be if the distance from flash to subject is too great but you need to try it first.

I do not use a mirrorless camera so this may be wrong but perhaps there may be a setting you have to enable to ensure your camera uses the mechanical shutter rather than electronic shutter also.

Real Name
    Dan

I have don't use that camera, but if you are reasonably close to the subject, a moderately powerful flash set to TTL mode should be fine. TTL (through the lens) means that the camera and flash monitor the light through the lens and shut the flash when the exposure is reasonable.