Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: 2020 Project 52 by Geoff F - 1st Quarter

Re: 2020 Project 52 by Geoff F - 1st Quarter

With the second image, Antonio, the bird's head is sharp but there is a bit of movement blur in the fish.

Cormorants can make good subjects because you often get close to them; although getting one struggling with a large fish is always a bonus.

Real Name
    Bruce

Geoff, these are great action shots. Were you using your zoom at its maximum reach?

Yes, Bruce, 600 mm. I find that lens works fine at full length but can be a bit soft towards the 150 mm end.

Week 08 - Kingsbridge

End of the Line. Where electricity comes into the town

2020 Project 52 by Geoff F - 1st Quarter

7D with Tamron 24-70 lens 1/500 F11 Iso 400

Shady side of the street

Merge of 3 bracketed exposures with middle image at 1/100 F8 Iso 400

These images are part of a project which I have been intending to do for several years. 50 years ago, when I was a young man, I lived on the edge of the town and on Friday and Saturday evenings I would walk along a narrow overgrown old lane to have a few beers in a pub which ceased trading about 40 years ago. My idea was to retrace my journey while pointing out what has changed; plus a few bits which have remained mostly the same. A number of street scenes would be linked together to give an impression of walking along.

I was going to turn the images into a little story as a slideshow; but with so many other commitments I'm not sure if I will finish it this year.
    Last edited by Geoff F; 1st March 2020 at 07:46 PM.

Real Name
    Bruce

Geoff, it sounds like an interestng project. I noted that the building built over the sidewalk (pavement?), has a sign reading "The Shambles". I'd heard the term before but no recollection what it means so looked it up. Is this where there used to be butchers -- as with The Shambles at York?

Real Name
    António Correia