Thread: On the street of Orchard Road

Real Name
    Steven

On the street of Orchard Road

This is one genre that I enjoy. I am still learning and CC is welcome.

people-sg-orchard08.jpg

people-sg-orchard06.jpg

people-sg-orchard07.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    John

Re: On the street of Orchard Road

Nice efforts, each is underexposed and could be processed to reveal more detail, however the third image works either way.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

I'm going to disagree with John's assessment. The problem in these images is not exposure (which is acceptable, given the lighting conditions you were shooting under), but rather the lighting / time of day that you were shooting. On at least one of the images you have exceeded the dynamic range of your camera's sensor and are close to doing so on the other two.

Your problem is shooting at close to mid-day in very sunny conditions. This means that the light is very harsh and hard. These conditions do not generally result in good images. An overcast day would have given you far better results; none of the harsh shadows and bright highlights. Most photographers prefer shooting late in the afternoon or early in the morning (preferably "golden hour", where the sun is low and near the horizon and the shadows are soft). In your part of the world, golden hour is very short (10 - 20 minutes as I recall), so not that great...

Let me show you your images in Adobe Camera Raw (ACR). The blue areas are where you have NO shadow detail (a.k.a. crushed shadows) and the red (clipped highlights - only in your first image).

Image 1:

Opening up Image 1 as much as possible by lifting the shadows:

Image 2:

Again, opening up the shadows and reducing the highlights gives:

Image 3:

Again, same global changes as the other two images...

This is the most obvious issue to fix. We can address the compositional and framing issues, but the lighting conditions will prevent these from being good images.