Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Selfie Stick for Underwater (including saltwater) Use

Selfie Stick for Underwater (including saltwater) Use

Hello, I am a nature videographer and I recently bought a used underwater camera to begin experimenting with a whole new world of possibilities in filming! I want to buy a selfie stick to use with it. It'll mostly be used in fresh water, however, I do live near the coast and saltwater use is going to happen also. Does anyone have experience and recommendations for this? Thank you in advance!

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Selfie Stick for Underwater (including saltwater) Use

Most of the members here are primarily still photographers and very few of us venture underwater.

Your question is quite broad and the answer will vary based on what you are trying to do. I have spent a lot of time underwater as a scuba diver (well over 300 logged dives) and have done some underwater video work. What are you trying to do, how deep under water are you planning to shoot? What are you planning to do to prevent you from losing your gear (waves, surge and current are often problematic close to the surface).

Salt water versus fresh water; there really isn't much difference here other than the amount of time to clean out the gear to prevent damage from salt recrystalization. The generally means more care and rinsing the gear in fresh water to get all the seawater out. Any low cost steel is attacked by salt water (as is aluminum) and will rust quickly unless it can be disassembled and dried out completely.

Depending on the depth you are looking at using the device, you don't want any stick that has sealed components that will get pressurized under water as that can lead to lock-up of functionality.