Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camera for an amateur

Camera for an amateur

I am a budding photographer exploring the huge realm of Photography.
    I have for quite a while on a compact camera (Nikon A900) and now I know all the basics, and am thinking of getting myself a DSLR.
    Should I think of getting a D5600 or D7500? Or should I wait for the release of D5700?
    As they say that image quality of D5600 and D7500 is similar, only the former is less easy to handle...
    Or, even, should I buy a Canon like 80D or 90D?
    I am open to all options as I was using a compact camera though would prefer a Nikon or Canon.
    I mainly do bird photography.

Cost is also a factor...
    I live in India

Thanks and Regards,
    MV

Arise, awake and do not stop until the goal is reached.

Real Name
    Peter Schluter

Re: Camera for an amateur

The only advice I would give is to go and try all these cameras out. There is nothing like holding a camera to get a feel of how one handles versus another.

Of course it may not be practical depending how far you live from a "real" camera shop.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

No one can really answer this question other than you.

I don't know the Canon line at all so cannot make any suggestions there.

All of the cameras that you are considering will take comparable images, so when it comes to picture quality there won't be any difference. Where there is a difference is in more advanced functionality and handling. Specialty techniques are generally going to come with the higher end bodies. The 5000 series will often require the user to make settings changes through use of the menu whereas the 7000 series will often let you access these functions via on camera body buttons, so you can access these functions more quickly.