Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Please advise me on processing and library software (Mac OSX Big Sur)

Real Name
    Adrian

Please advise me on processing and library software (Mac OSX Big Sur)

Please advise me on what library and image processing software you would recommend for a Mac user for amateur use. I’ve had past experience with Aperture, iPhoto, Photos, Lightroom and PS. A tiny bit with Gimp.

But I need now to build a website and some print materials as we are opening our garden and a catering venture publicly post lockdown. There will also be a book. This lot will be 90% images and design, with minimal text and I need to revisit library and processing software for this. I only have Photos available currently and am looking at alternatives, including the latest iteration of Luminar 4 with AI, which I have never used before. I'm attracted by batch processing, sky replacement, quick deletion of unwanted components and what appear to be similar tools to LR.

Ideally I would like software that shows the focus point (which Aperture had). At present I have our entire library available in Photos (Mac OSX Big Sur). This has some editing capability a bit like LR, and is non-destructive. However, it is also a bit amateurish and dictatorial on workflow. The library functionality is OK and of course is it fully Mac integrated.

Background context

I’ve been a member since 2008 and had active periods here, but in the past few years have just watched threads and not contributed.

I feel as if I have had a rocky ride with software. Started with Aperture (Mac), forced to move to Adobe when Mac killed that, and fell out of love with Lightroom, Photoshop and Bridge when I felt the paid subscription model became too expensive (I dislike subscription software) and Adobe became too intrusive for an amateur user. I also found some elements not very intuitive and dropped Adobe when we no longer needed it for business.