Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New thread on DXO Photolab 4

Real Name
    Adrian

New thread on DXO Photolab 4

I decided to start a new thread as my previous one has got somewhat bogged down by my pursuit of library issues. However, my main driver is processing. A kind person here recommended I try DXO Photolab 4 Elite and so I have spent about 7 hours fiddling with a trial version and reading reviews.

The reviews generally say that DXO is in a different league to Lightroom for rendering etc. To rehash a bit: I have about 12 years experience with Photoshop and Lightroom, as part of Creative Cloud in latter years, but I stopped using it last July when I sold a business. In reality almost all use was delegated to a graphic designer who produced our web images and brochures using InDesign etc, but I was very familiar with processing my own images. As per the other thread I don't like the adobe subscription model. I am no longer running an up to date version of Adobe software so comparisons are difficult. I also trialled Luminar AI and found it unsatisfactory.

DXO Photolab 4 first thoughts
    • Only useful for RAW processing as the best features require that. My wife will not be pleased.
    • Colour rendering can be selected by camera body. This is a good idea.
    • Lens correction is very good (Raw only). We use good L glass pretty much exclusively (apart from one 50mm and a compact travel long zoom green ring lens) and all of the lens profiles are set up)
    • I really like the super easy watermarking which can use logos and text and be batch applied
    • Batch renaming is very handy and helps address some of my library issues, though so far in my trial I have just been playing with individual images mainly
    • Batch processing seems to give a great deal of choice on customising - for example you can elect not to apply it to a certain lens (such as our f1.2L 85mm). I like that feature.