Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Telephoto vs. Telephoto Extender

Real Name
    Randy Butters

New Telephoto vs. Telephoto Extender

I am an amateur photog with some good gear, currently shooting with a Canon 5DMk4 and I have Canon's EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS III USM lens. I love both.

I find that 200mm is a bit minimal for my purposes when doing some bird photography. I could switch to my crop sensor, Canon T2i, but it is of course not nearly as fun to shoot as the full frame and is missing some of the current features of newer Canon cameras. And that would take me, if I understand this correctly, to approximately 300 mm equivalent focal length. Having done this at times, I still am wishing for more focal length.

This brings me to the idea of a Canon 2x extender for the telephoto I have. That will take me to 400 mm on my full frame, but the cost is just about 1/2 of the current pricing on a Sigma 150-600 5-6.3 "contemporary" or similar choice.

So my question(s):

Are extenders, this one specifically, worthwhile? Do they perform well enough?

I am doubting 400 mm will look much different to me in terms of magnification than the 200mm on my crop sensor camera; correct?

And as for the Sigma and Tamron 150 to 600 lenses, is it possible to say if there's enough boost in focal length and performance for the extra cost?

It seems to me that the lenses I have been looking at, get extremely pricey beyond this. The fixed focal length telephotos above 400 mm that I have seen are also above my budget, getting into prices around $6,000 and much higher. So: I am pretty sure my search considerations are for telephoto zooms with higher aperture values.

I realize there's lots of variables to consider here and that much of this comes down to personal preferences (including budgetary ones). Still, if you have any advice to share, I will appreciate it.