Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Comparing lenses for full frame vs. APS-C sensors

Real Name
    David

Comparing lenses for full frame vs. APS-C sensors

I'm an amateur when it comes to photography. When I became interested in developing photos I felt like I needed to be able to produce raw files to maximize the potential quality of resulting images. I opted for an inexpensive bundle (Canon EOS Rebel T6 also known as EOS 1300D) which included a pair of zoom lenses (18-55mm & 75-300mm). While I've been quite pleased with the results I do have an interest in acquiring a camera with a full frame sensor. The price range is mind boggling which definitely has me thinking that a single lens is the way to start.

I have a pretty good idea of what kind of photographs result when using various focal lengths on my present camera with an APS-C sensor. However, I think something called crop factor affects the numbers associated with comparable shots taken on a full frame sensor. For example, when looking at potential full frame lenses a couple of options that I'm thinking might work are either 24mm-105mm or 24mm-200mm but I feel like I need to know what the corresponding values would be for comparable shots on my APS-C sensor. My little bit of research suggests it might be as simple as dividing those numbers by a crop factor of 1.6. Is it that simple? If NOT how should it be done?

I would be grateful for some expert help!

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Comparing lenses for full frame vs. APS-C sensors

If the issue is framing (angle of view), yes, just divide by 1.6. To oversimplify somewhat, FF lenses also have about 1 stop less depth of field at any f-stop.