Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Thinking of upgrading to a full-frame camera- Z9?

Real Name
    Dan

Thinking of upgrading to a full-frame camera- Z9?

Quote Originally Posted by pschlute View Post
    The image circle produced by a lens is identical across all formats. It is the rectangular size of the smaller aps-c sensor that takes a smaller bite out of the image circle that creates the narrower FOV and gives a larger image, and the impression of "longer reach"
    Right. That’s what I meant. Sorry about the sloppy wording. But my point remains: AOV for any given FL varies with sensor size. I don't understand Ted's comment that suggests that it doesn't.

The term equivalent in this case means “AOV equivalent to a lens of FL x on a full frame camera.” As someone who shoots with 3 sensor sizes, I find this concept valuable. I used this idea just this week to figure out lenses for an MFT camera.

As a macro photographer, I think of magnification in the ”proper” way: the ratio of the size of the projected image to the size of the subject. It’s sometime also useful to focus on the ratio of the size of the projected image to the size of the frame, but I don’t think we have a standard term for that, hence the confusion about “magnification”. That’s also one reason people talk about “reach”.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Last edited by DanK; 23rd February 2022 at 11:58 PM.

Real Name
    Ted

Re: Thinking of upgrading to a full-frame camera- Z9?

Quote Originally Posted by DanK View Post
    Right. That’s what I meant. Sorry about the sloppy wording. But my point remains: AOV for any given FL varies with sensor size. I don't understand Ted's comment that suggests that it doesn't.
    I never mentioned AOV which is also not a property of a sensor, even if combined with FL.

I suppose I should have said that "reach" is a property of a lens combined with a sensor but is not a property of the sensor itself.