Thread: Moving On From A Nikon D7000 .

Real Name
    Peter .

Moving On From A Nikon D7000 .

After 10 years of owning my Nikon D7000 I feel it's time to invest in FF later on this summer -

The obvious choice [ for me ] seems to be the D750 but I'm not sure I like the thought of a tilt-screen .

Then there's the D810 - D850 - D4s - D4 ....and

The Z6 , Z6ii , Z7 etc .

I've read that the file sizes of the D850 and Z7 can bring their own problems so that kinda puts me off a bit but not entirely and of course there's the matter of the new Z Series Lenses [ yes , I know you can buy adapters ] .

At the moment I'm thinking a D750, a D810 or a low shutter count D4s but for the money I'd spend on a D4s I might be able to buy a D850 or a Z6 / Z7 so I'm going round in circles .

I'm only an average hobbyist who enjoys taking Landscape , few Portraits and a tiny bit of bird photography [ not much ] but who knows , interests can change .

I'm 66 now and this will probably [ but not certainly ] be my last camera purchase so I want to get it right .
    My lenses are a mixture of DX and FX .

I will be buying second hand most probably - budget will be up to £2k .

Real Name
    Ted

Re: Moving On From A Nikon D7000 .

Quote Originally Posted by Skyehammer View Post
    After 10 years of owning my Nikon D7000 I feel it's time to invest in FF later on this summer ...
    Apart from just a feeling, Peter, what specific reasons might you have to invest in FF? In other words, what would FF bring that you need but the D7000 can not provide?

One thing you could lose is geometric resolution. For example, the afore-mentioned D750 has a 6um pixel pitch versus the D7000's 4.8um.

After some 10+ years of hobby work, I've gone retro to 3.4MP Sigma and 20MP µ4/3 ... but I don't print.
    Last edited by xpatUSA; 19th March 2022 at 04:31 PM. Reason: resolution ...

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

My first question to you would be is why do you want to go FF?