Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Printing Portfolio

Real Name
    Alessandro

Printing Portfolio

Hello, I am very new to the forum

I am a portrait photographer (kind of second job) and I would like print some portfolio. I am working with a local printer but I find a lot of discrepancy based on what I see (and what she sees) on the screen and the final result.

Firstly, I have a calibrated monitor with X-rite device, I work with a Fuji GFX100s and Capture one. My pictures are quite dark, background RGB value are low, but on screen I see a color.

The issue is that in the printing the background is completely black, it seems the printer (or paper) do not handle the dynamic range of the photo. Is this possible? I am using Hannemuller German etching (matte). Of course it could be a monitor not well calibrated, but this is the same at printer. We checked 2 monitors and on screen the photo is correct, but on printer is dark.

Do you have experience in these situation? Should I lighten my pictures for this kind of paper and very dark images? Printer said that they do not use ICC paper profiles and they build their own.

I am almost thinking to invest in a printer and do by myself and then offer a kind of local service for photographer that need accurate printings....

Thanks a lot for any help
    Alessandro

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Printing Portfolio

First of all, this is a fairly common issue and the most likely explanation is that room you are working in is too bright and the computer screen is set too bright as well. Straight out of the box, even high end ones have been set for work in an office environment, which is far brighter than what we use in photo retouching.