Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Computer hardware required for lightroom masking speeding

Real Name
    Philippe

Computer hardware required for lightroom masking speeding

Hi, sorry if this request was already made, but I didn't find an exact thread for my inquiry .
    I want to upgrade to a new PC (my PC is more than 10 years with some upgrades) dedicated for postprocessing RAW files with LR classic (I have the subscription plan) mostly and a little bit with PS. Not too expensive, if possible, somewhere in the middle $$, assembling it with a computer technician.
    What is required for an efficient system copping with it in 2023?
    I use masking a lot, currently I have problems mainly when working with more than one mask, the program begins to freeze for a while.
    BTW I read about putting the catalog and the program on the same disk (I already have a 1TB SSD) but if I move the catalog will LR find it? I'm not an expert with computers...
    Thanks a lot for any help.
    PhilT

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Computer hardware required for lightroom masking speeding

Here is what Adobe says about Lightroom:

https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-cc...uirements.html

Just to be complete, here is what Adobe says about Photoshop requirements.

https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/sy...uirements.html

Real Name
    Len

Adobe also recommends a "development sequence" for LR.
    See attached extract.......

Order of Develop operations
    The best order of Develop operations to increase performance is as follows:

1) Spot healing.
    2) Geometry corrections, such as Lens Correction profiles and Manual corrections, including keystone corrections using the Vertical slider.
    3) Global non-detail corrections, such as Exposure and White Balance. These corrections can also be done first if desired.
    4) Local corrections, such as Gradient Filter and Adjustment Brush strokes.
    5) Detail corrections, such as Noise Reduction and Sharpening.