Thread: Looking to upgrade from D7200 to either D850 or Z7ii

Real Name
    Matt

Looking to upgrade from D7200 to either D850 or Z7ii

Ok then guys, help me out please.
    I've been wondering about upgrading my kit for a while now and it comes down to a choice between a Nikon d850 and a z7ii.
    I've been shooting with a d7200 for the last 8 years and I've only recently started to feel limited by it's abilities. I'm looking to go full frame and I don't want to leave the Nikon ecosystem.
    I am torn between one of Nikon's best ever dSLRs and the new tech.
    On the one hand, the d850 has all I need, it's compatible with my lenses without an adapter, It will "feel right" in my hands and the battery will last and last. That last one is important as I mostly shoot wildlife and spend long hours standing around waiting for "the moment" when I need the kit to be ready. On the other hand, the d850 is only a couple of years younger than my existing kit.
    The z7ii has, it seems, some issues with battery consumption, at least according to YouTube reviewers. They also say it takes half a second or so to wake up - too long. On the other hand, it's newer tech, lighter, has a silent shutter, and I've yet to find someone who regretted switching to mirrorless.
    Pricing is similar. Older kit should be dropping in price as folk jump over to mirrorless, but it isn't. New lenses for the z range are about twice the price, it seems. I really don't know which way to jump. Any advice would be welcome.
    Thanks in advance,
    Matt

Real Name
    Bill

Re: Why I switched

Quote Originally Posted by Szczur View Post
    I've yet to find someone who regretted switching to mirrorless.
    That probably says all that needs to be said, but here are a few notes from my switch from D810 to Z6ii,