Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Advice for Mac

Real Name
    William

Advice for Mac

Hi all,

I am considering buying a printer. I haven't printed much for some years but now feel I'm missing out. I'm not sure how to go about it. I have no experience with the latest printers and have forgotten all I knew last time I did it. I probably would print a lot for some of the year and then not much for other times. Good B&W is important to me and I'd probably stick to A4 using a print shop for anything larger. I'm not bothered about any non-photo printing or scanning as I already have an office printer for that.

I'm worried about two things: 1 Cost and 2 Drying out nozzle heads or whatever.

I'm not up to speed with the tech side of printing and don't really want a steep curve. I use Lightroom and I am probably going to start off using Permajet or something that would do the profiling for me for free. I can't afford to spend £500 on a profiler.

I had decided it would be good to get one of the tank system printers as they save so much money and after a bit of looking around I had sort of settled on the Canon Pixma G550 but then I read that they weren't so good with Macs which are all I use. I assume this is due to the Apple Air Print app giving no opportunity to fine tune the print. Is this assumption correct? If it is, can I avoid using the airprint app or get around it somehow?

What advice would you give me for progressing? Is the Canon a disappointment with the Mac? Is something better I'm missing?

Thank you for your help.
    Last edited by wooster; 11th February 2024 at 12:01 AM.

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Advice for Mac

There is a lot to sort out here.